ESA Annual Awards Ceremony

Room: Ballroom CD
Date: Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Time: 5:00PM - 5:15PM EDT

Each year the Energy Storage Association honors those individuals and companies that are moving the industry forward through their innovative work and dedication.

Phil Symons Energy Storage Award

Dr. Philip Symons career in electrochemistry and bulk energy storage led him to become one of the founding members of the Energy Storage Association (formerly Electricity Storage Association) and Chairperson from 1997 through 2003.  Phil’s leadership and guidance were critical in setting the organization on a path for growth.  Unfortunately, Phil passed away in 2006, but his memory is still celebrated each year with the presentation of the Phil Symons Energy Storage Award to a deserving recipient for contributions to the advancement of electricity storage.

Previous winners include:

  •  2006: Ali Nourai
  •  2007: William Hassenzahl
  •  2008: Jim McDowall
  •  2009: Imre Gyuk and Brad Roberts
  •  2010: John Boyes
  •  2011: Rick Winter
  •  2012: Terry Boston
  •  2013: Janice Lin
  •  2014: Jon Wellinghoff
  •  2015: Judith Judson

Brad Roberts Outstanding Industry Achievement by a Member Organization Award

This award highlights the accomplishments of an ESA member company or organization in the storage marketplace and recognizes comprehensive industry engagement and participation.  This award was named to honor Brad Roberts' legacy as a leader of the ESA and a champion for the energy storage industry. In addition to serving as the Executive Director for ESA, Roberts amassed over 35 years of experience in the design and operation of critical power systems, and he held senior management positions in two of the major UPS manufacturers. Mr. Roberts was a Fellow of IEEE and had published over 50 technical papers and journal articles on critical power system design and energy storage technology.

Previous Winners Include:  

  • 2013: S&C Electric Company
  • 2014: AES Energy Storage
  • 2015: Saft America, Inc.